4TH Edition Of Sanaa Theatre Awards Announces The 2016 Nominees


Sanaa Theatre Awards is an initiative of Tone Communications based at the Kenya Cultural Centre Nairobi.

Each year since 2013, Tone communications, an experiential multimedia solutions organization hosts the only national theatre awards in Kenya since the defunct Mbalamwezi Theatre Awards in 2004.

This year the 4th edition of the Sanaa Theatre Awards will be held at the newly refurbished Kenya National Theatre on December 14th.

We are pleased to announce that the 2016 edition will be graced by the distinguished presence of Dr. Hassan Wario, the Cabinet Secretary for Sports, Culture and The Arts.


You are invited for the Kenya’s only Theatre Awards grand announcement of nominees on Monday 5th at Alliance Francaise.

Media interviews with some of the nominees will also be available at the venue, below are the nomination categories.

1.Best Actor
2. Best Actress
3. Best Actress in a Supporting Role
4. Best Actor in a Supporting Role
5. Best Director
6. Best Playwright
7. Best Set Light and Sound Design
8. Best Costumes
9. Best Production
10. Best Comedy
11. Best Tragedy
12. Best Musical Theatre
13. Best Dance Theatre
14. Best Play in English
15. Best Play in Kiswahili
16. Best Play In Foreign Language
17. Best Play In Local Language
18. Best Production On Governance And Human Rights
19. Best Production On HIV And Aids
20. Best Production On Reproductive Health
21. Best Production On Child Rights And Protection
22. Best Production On Women Rights And Gender Based Violence
23. Best Spoken Word and Poetry
24. Best Production Of TV Comedy Recorded Before A Live Audience
25. Best Comedian On TV – Male
26. Best Comedian On TV – Female
27. Best Innovative Short Film on Health, Youth and Behaviour Change
28. Best Innovative Film on Environment and Global warming
29. Best Producer

Also Read :   Akothee travels to the west to cook something with Naija's Mr.Flavour.

30. Best Theatre, Art and Culture Writer
31. Best TV Art Culture News Magazine
32. Best Art and Culture Magazine / Newspaper
33. Best All-time Supporting Institution
34. Best Supporting Individual
35. Best Performing Theatre Space
36. Most Improved Theatre Space
37. Lifetime Achievement Award
38. Best Production Primary School
39. Best Production Secondary School
40. Best Production College and University
41. Best Narrative Theatre
42. Best Live Music Performance
43. Best Supporting County
44. Distinguished Diaspora Award

Details of the briefing:
Date: Monday 5, 2016
Venue: Alliance Francaise
Time: 9am to 12pm